Rugby Themed 50th Birthday Cake

Hello all

How are you? Busy, busy in the lead up to Christmas I bet! We sure are.

Today I am bringing you my latest cake. I was asked months ago to create a masterpiece for a 50th birthday party. It was actually my life coach and owner of my gym that asked me to make the cake. She’s the one tasked with keeping me sane (poor woman! No really, she is fantastic and I attribute all of my dealing with depression to her). The party was for the gym’s floor manager, Neal, and it was all about rugby (at a rugby club, everyone dressed up etc).

I’ll be honest here, I’m not much of a rugby person. This cake was going to be hard! I had many ideas in my head and as the day got closer I narrowed it down, but then came the actual execution and that wasn’t so successful. In the end, the cake looked great, just nothing at all like I’d originally pictured.

20131130_135344

One thing I wanted to do, because I’d never done it before, and of course this is all about personal development and growth, was to make a person. It actually turned out awesome, except for the fact that he was seriously out of proportion. Whoops!

Rugby Birthday Cake

The end result I was really happy with. The cake also got a very good reception at the party. Ā A lot of the people there were members of the gym that I’ve known for several years now and they were full of praise (seriously good for the ego) One of them even sent an email to my coach saying how amazing it was šŸ™‚ After a long, very stressful and quite upsetting week, it was nice to have the compliments (and a few parties to go too, all without the kids!!)

I’ve since launched straight back into Christmas preparations with my first Christmas cake and batch of Christmas mince pies baked on Tuesday and a couple more presents in the works or completed. I can’t believe it’s only three weeks to go! I’m hoping to have some delicious Christmas recipes to you very shortly (why has it not occurred to me previously to post them? Why wait until three weeks out?). Then in the New Year I’ll recap all the cool prezzies I made and gave šŸ™‚

Hope you’re all having a wonderful day šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

