Apple Custard Tea Cakes – Recipe

Hello everyone, hope you are well.

I’ve being doing a bit of work today on getting my Pinterest up to speed and setting up a Facebook page etc for this blog. So please have a look at those and give me some likes 🙂

Recently my mummy friend (as in we met when we became mummy’s and have daughters four days different in age) invited me to meet her brother and his wife who had recently moved to New Zealand. I think she wanted me to meet them because not only do they have a daughter the same age as ours they also have wee baby twins. She also asked if I would bake something to take along. And being the baking addict I am, I agreed (as she knew I would).

The day before the visit I had some trouble on my hands. I hadn’t been supermarket shopping in a really long time and therefore was a bit sparse on the ingredients. But then I found something that blew my mind and changed everything!  In a small and seemingly inconsequential little cupcake book I found a recipe for Apple Custard Tea Cakes. (Link to info on the book is here. It was really cheap and full of great, simple and gorgeous cupcake recipes and ideas)

With ingredients I consider pantry staples and those which I had, this was going to have to be my recipe of choice. The other awesome thing about this recipe was aside from the custard, you throw everything in the mixer and let it go. Couldn’t be easier! There is a little more work involved in the custard and assembling the cakes, but I’ll tell you this: IT IS SO WORTH IT!

I found these little beauties are best while still warm from the oven and would be delicious with ice cream (but then what wouldn’t be??) That said, they were still pretty awesome the next day. So awesome in fact a whole batch was eaten before I had a chance to take any photos. Much to everyone’s dismay I had to make more!

They went down a real treat with both the adults and children enjoying them 🙂

So here is the recipe so you can make your own delicious Apple Custard Tea Cakes:

Apple Custard Tea Cakes

 Apple Custard Tea Cakes

Cakes:
90g butter
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
½ cup (110g) caster sugar
2 eggs
¾ cup (110g) self raising flour (or plain flour with ¾ teaspoon baking powder included in the 110g, which is how I do it)
¼ cup custard powder
2 tablespoons milk
1 large (200g) apple (or some smaller ones), unpeeled, cored and sliced
30g butter, extra, melted
1 tablespoon caster sugar, extra
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

Custard:
1 tablespoon custard powder
1 tablespoon caster sugar
½ cup (125ml) milk
¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

  1. Make custard:
    Blend custard powder and sugar with milk and extract in a small saucepan; stir over heat until mixture boils and thickens. Remove from heat; cover surface with cling film; cool.
  2. Preheat oven to moderate (180°C/160°C fan assisted). Line 6-hole large or 12-hole standard muffin tray with paper cases.
  3. Beat butter, extract, sugar, eggs, flour, custard powder and milk in a small bowl with electric mixer on low speed until ingredients are just combined. Increase speed to medium, beat until mixture is changed to a paler colour.
  4. Divide half the mixture among cases. Top with custard, then remaining cake mixture; spread mixture to cover custard. Top with apple slices, pressing slightly onto cake.
  5. Bake large cakes about 40 minutes, small cakes about 30 minutes.
  6. Brush hot cakes with extra butter, then sprinkle with combined extra sugar and cinnamon. Turn cakes onto wire rack. Serve warm or cold.
Just a wee disclaimer, because I need to keep a clear and uncluttered consciense: If you click on the link to the book and purchase a copy, apparently I get a fraction of the sale price through the Book Depository’s Affiliates thing. I hope that doesn’t make you feel funny about my blog, or about me 🙂
3 thoughts on “Apple Custard Tea Cakes – Recipe

  1. Don’t worry we feel funny about you anyway! I actually had to go back and look for the link to the book so I don’t think you can be accused of selling out just yet.
    =)

Leave a Reply

