Personalised Bunting Banner – Tutorial!

When we were expecting the twins we decided to redecorate what would become their room. To be quite honest, the some of the colour schemes in our house are quite horrid and I was keen to use any excuse to make it less ick.

So, since we didn’t know if we were having boys or girls, we selected a very gender neutral colour scheme of green and white. Its gorgeous, and I love it. But recently I decided it needed some girly touches (because green is way closer to a ‘boy’ colour than it is girly).

So I trawled Spotlight (favourite shop ever!) and found some bright pink and purple fabrics. I made gorgeous dust ruffles to hang below their cots.

Dust Ruffle Dust Ruffle

I used the tutorial on this page: Sew 4 Home: Stylish Baby Nursery: Bloomin’ Dust Ruffle but with my mother’s guidance made them bigger (more ruffled) so that once the girls are finished in their cots, I can remake them into dust ruffles for single beds (honestly, my mum is so clever!)

My next challenge was some personalised bunting, as you can see in the picture above. I’d seen a basic tutorial somewhere for it and I wish I could remember where because I’d link to it. But I don’t know where it is, so therefore can’t.

And so we proceed to my first ever tutorial. Hopefully my directions are clear enough in case you want to have a go making some yourself. It’s so simple and looks fabulous and would make fantastic presents for so many wee children! (Any friends of mine reading this with kiddies, you’ve been warned!!)

So, what you need (Sorry this part will be a bit vague because I didn’t take a photo, nor did I accurately record what I used!)

Background fabric (You’ll need to work out how much you need based on how long the name is)
Foreground/letter fabric (I just used simple block colours because they were cheap and went with the dust ruffles)
Thread to match both background and foreground colours
Visoflix (Iron on glue type stuff which holds the applique letters in place while you sew – AWESOME!)
Rotary cutter and mat or scissors, ruler, a sewing machine is handy, though if you were really keen you could do it by hand (argh! The thought of all that tediousness!)

So to get started, press your fabric and then lay out ready to cut. I folded mine in half so was getting two triangles for the price of one. You might be game enough to have more layers… Or not.

Here is a wee diagram of how big my triangles were and how I cut them out:

Bunting Measurements Bunting Plan

(Sorry about the quality of the drawing… I was never good at sketching – As in it was the part I failed in graphics class at school)

First I cut strips the height of the triangles then made diagonal cuts to get the triangles.

Next step was to sew the triangles together. The tutorial I saw had them just one layer, either hemmed or cut with pinking shears (I can’t remember, I possibly saw two tutorials, one done each way) but I thought having two sides to them would make them look a bit more finished and also help them to hang nicely (You could do either of these options instead of using twice the fabric).

Sew the triangles right sides together, leaving an opening in the middle of the top of each triangle. Trim corners, then turn and press (I know the most awful part of sewing).

Nicely hand stitch the opening closed (I know almost the most awful part of sewing).

Cut out your triangles

Trim the Corners

Turn your triangles right side out and hand stitch opening

Now onto the letters. I printed my letters off the computer (I was going to say we all know you have one of those, because you need it to read this.. But in this day of smart phones etc maybe you don’t, anyway, moving on…)

Make sure you reverse the letters before printing then trace onto your Visoflix (or do what I did since I forgot that step and tape them to a window to trace them backwards).

Trace your letters in reverseTrace your letters onto the Visoflix

Cut the letters out leaving a bit of space around each one. Then iron all the letters onto the wrong side of your foreground fabric. Cut the letters out along the line this time. You should have a nice pile of letters, fabric one side and paper the other.

Cut out your lettersIron your letters onto your foreground fabricCut out the letters with Visoflix still attached

Peel the paper away, position on your neatly finished triangles and iron on. For this step, I folded my triangles and letters down the middle and matched the creases I made. Then I measured down from the top of the triangle to figure out what height my letters should be.

Iron your letters on

Switch your machine thread to your foreground colour and edge stitch nice and neatly (I did fairly small stitches) stitch around the letters. Pull your threads through to the back of your work and then feed the ends into the triangles, between the layers. Makes it nice and neat.

Stitch neatly around your lettersThe finished letters

Once all your letters are on, line them up and sew onto your ribbon/rope/hanging apparatus. I used a fancy rope to hang mine = Bad idea! It was so hard to get the triangles to sit flat as the rope kept twisting as I sewed! Next time I’d do a ribbon I think.My fancy rope

As I knew I had just enough rope, I found the middle and placed the middle letter there, then worked my way out, evenly spacing (About 2cm apart) my triangles and hand stitching on.

Space the triangles evenly along the rope/ribbon

To hang ours, I used eyelets that are used for curtains hung on a wire. We simply screwed them into the wall, threaded the rope through, folded it back on itself and stitched in place (not that easy high up on the wall, but achieveable). As you will see on the purple one, I sewed the rope back on itself where it’s visible. It looks much better on the pink one where I stitched it back behind the edge of the triangle.

Curtain eyelet20130821_10322220130821_103258

I love my babies’ bunting flags. It brightens up the room and at least the baby sitter will know what cot to put them to bed in!

Charlotte

Taylor

3 thoughts on “Personalised Bunting Banner – Tutorial!

  1. Very Good tutorial Lynda. I can imagine you up against the wall stitching the ends!!
    You could possibly use a hook instead of the full ring and then you could stitch the end and slip the loop onto the hook. Might be easier.
    Looking forward to the next project.

Leave a Reply

