Apple and Blueberry Shortcake – Dessert and more!

Hi guys

Well I’ve been working hard to finish my latest project to feature on here. But this thing called life keeps getting in the way… So in the meantime, here’s an amazing recipe I found!

Apple and Blueberry ShortcakeImageRecipe from New Zealand Women’s Weekly “Cooks the Classics”.

This is an amazing book I found at the supermarket one day. It has heaps of simple, classic (funny that) recipes that use mostly ingredients already found in my cupboard! It’s fantastic as I’m constantly being frustrated by recipes I have to purchase most of the ingredients specially for, as they then sit in the cupboard and go off before I even make the recipe!

Right, so while browsing my recipe books one day (I spend a lot of time browsing recipe books…. Need a new hobby I think) I came across the recipe which was simple and used nothing out of the ordinary. Even better it was something I would love, my husband would love and the girl’s would be able to manage eating it without causing too much mess (unlike chocolate custard…)

It turned out delicious and was so easy! It was great straight from the oven with cream or ice cream. It was fantastic cold and also lovely reheated in the microwave for a few seconds. Win-win-win!

And so, without further ado, to the recipe!

Apple and Blueberry Shortcake

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1/2 cup cornflour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup sugar
200g butter, chopped
1 egg
3 apples
1 1/4 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen)
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

  1. Heat the oven to 180°C. Place flour, cornflour, baking powder and sugar in a food processor bowl. With the motor running, drop butter into the flour until mixture resembles rough crumbs. Add egg and pulse until mixture forms a ball.
  2. Press half the mixture over the base of a line 30cm x 18cm slice pan.
  3. Peel, core and slice apples and arrange over pastry base. Scatter with blueberries, sugar and cinnamon.
  4. Top with remaining dough and bake for 25 minutes until golden and crisp. Serve warm or at room temperature with yoghurt or cream.

And that’s it! A delicious, crumbly shortcake awaits you!

Leave a Reply

