John Deere Tractor Cake

Hi all!

I’m so excited to share this cake with you! I can’t believe its taken me a whole week from making it to posting! (Didn’t want to over-do things with two posts too close together then have nothing to post for a while!)

I was asked by a little boy recently to make his fifth birthday cake. He’s mad keen on tractors, but not just any old tractor. It has to be John Deere.

The cake also had to work for two parties, one with a whole tribe of little boys and another family event. So it had to be fairly sizeable…

And here’s the end result:

Alex's Birthday Cake!

I love it. But to be honest, probably never, ever want to make green buttercream again… or fondant.

So it’s base is four batches of Mum’s chocolate cake recipe baked in a square tin and place side by side (couldn’t afford a new big tin!) Lots of buttercream later we created a mown hay paddock and a grass paddock, piped with the Wilton grass tip number 233. It was the first time I’ve used the tip, but it was fairly easy to get the hang of and I’m pretty happy with my grass.

Next up, my husband (who’s nephew the cake was for) took on the challenge of creating the tractor. I think he thought this fondant modelling business was easy. Ha, he soon learnt. After four nights work he had a pretty good representation of a John Deere tractor and baler. Overall I think he did a better job than I could have, though he did have a few cracks and flaws in the final product (he failed to realise just how quickly fondant dries out). My contribution was the yellow stripes, because his fingers were too big and clumsy to work with the tiny pieces.

Fondant grass was stuck around the sides of the cake and finished with white fondant daisies made with the smallest blossom plunger cutter in the Wilton Flower Cutter set. I brushed the centres with a bit of gold lustre (even in a boys cake I include lustre… It’s like my favourite cake decorating thing!)

Some fondant lettering and grass piped onto the board and all finished off with some chocolate cows, fondant hay bales and green and yellow candles. Oh, and I almost forgot: the fence. I’d made a beautiful white rail fence from fondant, but as I was assembling the cake on the morning of the party I snapped it! Disaster! Lucky my husband arrived with some pliers and quickly whipped up a great little fence from florist wire. Phew!

And without further ado, to the photos!

If I’ve missed any details you’d like to know about let me know.

I’ve got some more cool stuff coming up, including some cute party desserts I’m working on at the moment. My new craft room is also a few steps closer to completion so I’ll give you a peek at that shortly too, Can’t wait :-)

Lynda

One thought on “John Deere Tractor Cake

Leave a Reply

